Teenagerism #1: Everything is a big deal!

The world constantly complains about teenagers. We’re rebellious, we’re rude, we’re loud and obnoxious with our friends, and we’re stony silent with our families. We stay up late, swear, and do stupid things. It’s who we are. Parents consult child psychologists and parenting magazines to learn how to handle their teenagers, but why don’t they ever consult the main source? Ask a teenager! So, in an attempt to explain the mindsets and attitudes of teenage brains, I’d like to present a little series I call, “Teenagerisms.”

Teenagerism #1: Everything is a big deal!

Teenagers make a big deal out of everything. Everything can tear their universe apart. Everything will ruin their lives. It’s absolutely ridiculous. That girl he likes doesn’t like him back? It’s the end of the world. She gets a D on ONE test? She’s convinced she won’t go to college.

I don’t really understand it, but these little things that might not be a big deal to adults are a big deal to us young people. I know I can’t speak for the entire teenage population, but I know that sometimes, I make a huge deal out of the littlest things. And there’s always that voice in the back of my mind that’s whispering, “Calm down. It’s not a big deal. You’re being a baby about this. Stop it.”

But the rest of me is screaming at that tiny, reasonable voice, “Shut up! My life is over and my world is falling apart and everything sucks and everything should just go die!”

Of course, I believe I’m on the more reasonable side of the teenager scale, and I know I’ll make mistakes, people won’t always be nice to me, and not everything will go my way. And most of the time, I’m okay with that. But I have my moments.

I’ve had so many friends that make a huge deal out of the littlest things. A dear friend of mine was the queen of drama queens. If you looked up “teenage drama” in the dictionary, her picture would be right there, her bright green eyes staring at you with a stony cold gaze.

Forget to text her back? “OMG, are you mad at me? You’re mad at me, aren’t you? You think I’m a bad friend, don’t you? WHY ARE YOU IGNORING ME?”

Hang out with a different group for a lunch period? “OMG you’re replacing me. What did I do wrong? Am I a bad friend? No, wait. You’re a bad friend because you’re ditching me for those girls. I’m not speaking to you anymore.”

Has a crush on a guy? “He’s so awesome and so cute and so athletic and so talented! He totally likes me. He was staring at me all through class yesterday!” (He really wasn’t.)

We’re teenagers. We perceive everything differently because we’ve seen enough to understand that bad things happen, but we’re still too young to understand that everything will be okay in the end. So, when faced with a teenager’s “crisis,” just hear us out. Please don’t make a big joke out of it. These “little things” are a big deal to us, and we’d appreciate it if the important adults in our lives treated them that way.

Leave a Reply

