Teenager Girl-isms: Compliments

I’m kind of an awkward person and I don’t give out very many compliments. It’s just who I am. But I have yet to decide whether not giving out compliments much at all is worse than giving out insincere ones.

I have seen many, many girls tell another girl that their outfit is super cute or hey’re super pretty, and then turn around and just bitch about the same girl five minutes later. It’s absolutely ridiculous. It’s like that scene in Mean Girls where Regina says to a girl, “I like your skirt. Where did you get it?” and then right after the girl leaves, she turns to Cady and says, “That is the ugliest skirt I have ever seen.”

Why do female people feel the need to toss empty compliments back and forth when they mean quite the opposite? It makes no sense to me.

Another thing many girls are guilty of is deflecting compliments. It’s classic.

“Oh, you look so pretty!”

“Ugh no, the hairdresser messed up my haircut and now it looks like there’s a rat nest on my head and I gained like fifteen pounds at my grandmother’s house last weekend. I’m so ugly.”

This happens ALL THE TIME. Then, the complimenter feels bad and continues handing out compliments in an effort to make things better. It just never ends. It is very, very annoying. I hate it.

I don’t know whether girls are doing this because they’re trying to be modest or they’re just trying to fish for compliments, but whatever the reason, STOP IT.

Honestly, I have half a mind to just agree with them and say, “Fine. If you really think so, you’re ugly and fat. Whatever. Don’t take my compliment.” But ordinarily, at that point I just change the subject.

PLEASE just smile, say thank you, and move on, girls. Nobody likes your “I’m so ugly” talk.

2 responses to “Teenager Girl-isms: Compliments

  1. Thanks for the shootout!

Leave a Reply

