Teachers

School is something every teenager dreads. It’s a social norm. We hate our teachers, we hate our classmates, we hate all the work and the studying and the waking up early. However, I believe that there is a much bigger problem at hand than just these simple things that teenagers complain about.

The education system in the United States is subpar, if you ask me. Not enough money is going into our students, our schools, and our teachers. Teachers are sitting at their desks behind their computers drinking coffee rather than in front of the classroom teaching the students. They give packets and packets of papers for their students to complete, hand in, and forget all about as soon as they leave the classroom.

Granted, I have had some incredible teachers that did touch my life and made me love a subject I hated before. Math was enjoyable with my Algebra I and Geometry teacher. English was enjoyable with my freshman English teacher. I truly loved Algebra and English while I had those amazing teachers teaching me. Although you may think that it was just because those teachers graded easily or didn’t give much homework, it was quite the opposite. I am a straight-A student, but I got consistent Bs in Algebra I and Geometry because my teacher challenged us so much. She put a problem on the board that really forced us to apply the concepts she taught us and look at them in a whole new light. My freshman English teacher hardly ever gave As on essays. She forced us to look over every single detail and make sure every point was explained thoroughly. However, I still loved them. They forced me to think. They forced me to challenge myself. I was never bored in those classes, counting ceiling tiles and trying to hide my phone as I texted my friends across the room.

On the other hand, I had the easiest time in Biology last year. I slept through class, never studied, and did very little homework. I got straight As in that class, but I hated it. I hated every bit of it. The course was the easiest one I have ever taken, and I hated it. I didn’t even have to do anything. But I hated it. It was boring. I didn’t learn a thing in that class. My teacher didn’t care what I did. She only cared about the work. She didn’t try to challenge me. She didn’t force me to think critically.

Most people I know love easy classes. Classes where the teacher lets you do whatever you want. Classes where the teacher doesn’t assign any work and grades whatever work they do assign very, very easily. But not me.

I want teachers that do things. I want teachers that get up and make the subject fun and interesting. I want teachers that force me to think. I want teachers that remind me that I can’t get by in life by just mindlessly finishing eighty problems and then handing it in. I want teachers that let me voice my opinions. Most of all, I want teachers that encourage my intelligence and encourage me to think on higher levels.

I can’t be the only one, can I?

Leave a Reply

